D2™ » Stats » League History
League History

Now in its second decade, the Tennessee Super Prep Conference (Division II AA TSSAA Football Division) continues to represent the very best in high school football. 

In 1996, because of the success of several private schools in TSSAA championship play, two public high schools led the charge to place need based financial-aid giving schools in a separate division within the TSSAA. 

The private schools protested the decision, but, simultaneously the private schools were not happy over the quota system that had been in place for several years. Under this system, only three athletes per school who received need based financial aid could participate in football. Without representation on the TSSAA governing body, the private schools were overwhelmed in creating a separate division. Thus Division II was born!

D II AA originally had seven members - Baylor, Brentwood Academy, Christian Brothers, Father Ryan, McCallie, MUS, and MBA. Because of the success and tradition of these seven institutions academically and athletically, the league earned the designation "Super 7". For 17 years, this league has established itself as one of the premier conferences in the country. The member schools have won almost 80% of its games against non-league opponents. The D II AA schools have played teams from North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Kentucky, Virginia, Mississippi, Texas, Arkansas, Ohio, and Alaska since 1997. Almost yearly since 1997, D II AA has had at least one school ranked in the Top 25 nationally in USA Today, Max Preps, or other national polls of high school football.

Division II AA continues to set high standards, and the alumni become leaders in communities around the world. CONGRATULATIONS TO D II AA SCHOOLS - The Tennessee Super Prep Conference.